Skip to content

Mogwai to Release Comprehensive Hits and Rarities Set, ‘Central Belters’

INDIO, CA - APRIL 12: Musician Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai performs onstage during day 2 of the 2014 Coachella Valley Music & Arts Festival at the Empire Polo Club on April 12, 2014 in Indio, California. (Photo by Jason Kempin/Getty Images for Coachella)

Scottish post-punk minor deities Mogwai have announced Central Belters, a sweeping collection of hits and rarities from their 20-year history as a band. Below, find the full track list for the three-CD (or six-LP) set, which arrives on October 9 via Rock Action Records.

The five-piece has also shared a new video for 1997’s “Helicon 1.” Of the clip, director Craig Murray told Noisey, “The film you see is made from 100% 35mm stills which I shot off the screen: I used about 100+ rolls which were all individually scanned. All effects you see in the film are physical workings of the negatives (scanner compositing, scratching, liquids etc). Given the logistics of shooting everything discreetly and also in the sea,  the original footage was all shot on an iphone and a go-pro, with some addition animation using 35mm.”

Watch it here and check out the Mogwai’s handful of tour dates after.

Mogwai tour dates:
June 24 and 25 – London, U.K. @ Roundhouse
July 11 – Lisbon, Portugal @ Nos Alive
July 17 – Berlin, Germany @ Melt! Festival

Mogwai, Central Belters track list:
CD 1
1. “Summer”
2. “Helicon 1”
3. “CODY”
4. “Christmas Steps”
5. “I Know You Are But What Am I?”
6. “Hunted By A Freak”
7. “Stanley Kubrick”
8. “Take Me Somewhere Nice”
9. “2 Rights Make 1 Wrong”
10. “Mogwai Fear Satan”

CD 2
1. “Auto Rock”
2. “Travel Is Dangerous”
3. “Friend Of The Night”
4. “We’re No Here”
5. “I’m Jim Morrison, I’m Dead”
6. “The Sun Smells Too Loud”
7. “Batcat”
8. “Mexican Grand Prix”
9. “Rano Pano”
10. “How To Be A Werewolf”
11. “Wizard Motor”
12. “Remurdered”
13. “The Lord Is Out Of Control”
14. “Teenage Exorcists”

CD 3
1. “Hugh Dallas”
2. “Half Time”
3. “Burn Girl Prom Queen”
4. “Devil Rides”
5. “Hassenheide”
6. “Tell Everybody That I Love Them”
7. “Earth Division”
8. “Wizard Motor”
9. “Hungry Face”
10. “D to E”
11. “My Father My King”

Share This