Skip to content

Sun Kil Moon Announces New Album, ‘Universal Themes’

Mark Kozelek, Sun Kil Moon

Sun Kil Moon‘s Mark Kozelek has announced plans to release the follow-up to 2014’s Benji (a.k.a. No. 6 on SPIN’s list of the 50 Best Albums of 2014). Titled Universal Themes, the forthcoming album — which was recorded in San Francisco and Hoboken and features percussion by Sonic Youth’s Steve Shelley — will feature the previously unveiled “The Possum” and will be out on June 2 via Caldo Verde Records. It’ll be out on vinyl follow later in the year. Check out the track list below. 

Universal Themes track list:
1. “The Possum”
2. “Birds of Flims”
3. “With a Sort of Grace I Walked to the Bathroom to Cry”
4. “Garden of Lavender”
5. “Cry Me a River Williamsburg Sleeve Tattoo Blues”
6. “Ali/Spinks 2”
7. “Little Rascals”
8. “This Is My First Day and I’m Indian and I Work at a Gas Station”