Skip to content

Bon Iver, Bonnie ‘Prince’ Billy, Sufjan Stevens, and More Guest on MusicNOW Compilation


Cincinnati’s MusicNOW Festival has been going on for about ten years (this year’s runs from March 11 through 15), with the help of the National’s Bryce Dessner, of course. Known for pairing musical acts to perform one-off covers, MusicNOW will soon release a new compilation called MusicNOW – 10 Years, featuring live recordings from the last decade with guests including the Books, Andrew Bird, Sufjan Stevens, Grizzly Bear, the Dirty Projectors, and more.

The album’s star-studded opener is also available for streaming; it’s from Sounds of the South, a supergroup comprised of Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon, Sharon Van Etten, Matthew E. White, Megafaun, and Fight the Big Bull. Listen to the slow, soulful “Trials, Troubles, Tribulations” below, see MusicNOW‘s track list, and look out for the album’s release on March 10.

MusicNOW — 10 Years Track List:

1. Sounds Of The South – “Trials, Troubles, Tribulations”
2. Robin Pecknold – “Silver Dagger”
3. Sufjan Stevens – “The Owl & The Tanager”
4. eighth blackbird – “Omie Wise”
5. My Brightest Diamond – “I Have Never Loved Someone”
6. Dirty Projectors – “Emblem Of The World”
7. Tinariwen – “Imidiwan Ma Tenam”
8. Tim Hecker – “Chimeras (Live) 2011”
9. Colin Stetson – “Nobu Take”
10. Owen Pallett – “E Is For Estranged”
11. Erik Friedlander – “Airstream Envy”
12. Bonnie “Prince” Billy – “Love Comes To Me”
13. Grizzly Bear – “While You Wait For The Others”
14. The Books with Clogs – “Classy Penguin”
15. Andrew Bird – “Section 8 City”
16. Justin Vernon – “Love More”