Skip to content

Hot Chip Confirm New Album and Share Strobing First Single, ‘Huarache Lights’

Hot Chip, New Album, Why Make Sense

Hot Chip confirmed that the cryptic teaser video they released last week was indeed hinting at a brand-new record. Why Make Sense? is the British electronic outfit’s sixth studio album, and the follow-up to their critically acclaimed 2012 release, In Our Heads. The ten-track LP will also come with a separate, four-track EP of cuts from the recording sessions, available to fans who pre-order the album. Hot Chip shared a video for the first track, “Huarache Lights,” a heavy, pulsating effort with a wonky synth-aided vocal breakdown toward the end. The video is an artist single-shot light show based on an instillation by artist Robert Bell. Watch it above, and check out the full track list for the LP and EP, due out May 18, below.

Hot Chip’s Why Make Sense? track list:

1. “Huarache Lights”
2. “Love is the Future”
3. “Cry For You”
4. “Started Right”
5. “White Wine and Fried Chicken”
6. “Dark Night”
7. “Easy to Get”
8. “Need You Now”
9. “So Much Further to Go”
10. “Why Make Sense?”

EP track list:

1. “Burning Up”
2. “Separate”
3. “Move With Me”
4. “Re-harmonize”