Skip to content

Florence + the Machine Announce Third Album, ‘How Big How Blue How Beautiful’

florence + the machine

Florence + the Machine will release its third studio album, How Big How Blue How Beautiful on June 2. The LP is the group’s first full-length since Florence Welch’s Ceremonials in 2011, and is set to feature 11 tracks. On the way via Republic, the upcoming effort also boasts production by Markus Dravs (who’s worked with Björk, Arcade Fire, and Coldplay), Paul Epworth (responsible for much of Adele’s 21), Kid Harpoon, and John Hill.

“It was sort of a crash landing,” Florence says, in a statement, of coming down after touring behind Ceremonials. “I guess although I’ve always dealt in fantasy and metaphor when I came to writing, that meant the songs this time were dealing much more in reality. Ceremonials was so fixated on death and water, and the idea of escape or transcendence through death, but the new album became about trying to learn how live, and how to love in the world rather than trying to escape from it. Which is frightening because I’m not hiding behind anything but it felt like something I had to do.”

Flo’s also just released the video for the album’s lead single, “What Kind of Man,” a song that first premiered on today’s edition of Zane Lowe’s popular BBC Radio show. The visuals — the second taste of How Big How Blue How Beautiful, following a video for the title track — were directed by Vincent Haycock and choreographed by Ryan Heffington. Watch it above, pre-order the album right now, and check out the full track list below.

Florence + the Machine, How Big How Blue How Beautiful track list:
1. “Ship To Wreck”
2. “What Kind Of Man”
3. “How Big, How Blue, How Beautiful”
4. “Queen Of Peace”
5. “Various Storms & Saints”
6. “Delilah”
7. “Long & Lost”
8. “Caught”
9. “Third Eye”
10. “St Jude”
11. “Mother”