Skip to content

Future Islands and Sam Smith Bring High-Wire Emotions to ‘Austin City Limits’

Future Islands Sam Smith Austin City Limits Video Stream

The 40th season of late night live music institution Austin City Limits rolled on Saturday night with another couple of performances from Future Islands and Sam Smith. Though the Baltimore synth-punks and the British crooner are pretty aesthetically dissimilar, the outsized emotions in both of their 2014 albums makes the pair a surprisingly great match. Smith offered up the expected songs from last year’s In the Lonely Hour, “Money on My Mind” and “Stay With Me” as well as “Nirvana,” a cover of Whitney Houston’s “How Will I Know,” and his Disclosure collab “Together.” Future Islands for their part tore through six swooning songs from Singles, including the towering “Seasons (Waiting on You).” Watch both performances above (Future Islands’ set starts at the 26:30 mark), then for more read SPIN’s 2014 profile on Future Islands.