Skip to content

Panda Bear Sneak-Releases New EP ‘Mr. Noah’

Panda Bear, Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper, Mr. Noah

Those anxiously awaiting the follow-up to Panda Bear‘s 2011 album Tomboy were treated to a cornucopia of goodies from the upcoming Panda Bear Meets the Grim Reaper late last night just about everything but the LP itself, really. You got a lead EP, entitled Mr. Noah, now available for purchase on iTunes. You got the lead track from that EP (and the first single from the album) in the form of the “Mr. Noah” music video. You even got a release date (January 13), a tracklist, and a hypnotic promo video of the Grim Reaper cradling a stuffed panda.

The Mr. Noah title track features Panda Bear at his baggiest, with its shuffling drums and psychedelic, growling guitar loops finding him in near-Stone Roses (or at least near-Jagwar Ma) musical territory. It works pretty well, especially in conjunction with its circular, supremely trippy music video, solidly captivating for a lead single.


Here’s the full track list for Meets the Grim Reaper, already on our shortlist for most anticipated albums of early 2015.

Panda Bear Meets The Grim Reaper:

1. “Sequential Circuits”
2. “Mr Noah”
3. “Davy Jones’ Locker”
4. “Crosswords”
5. “Butcher Baker Candlestick Maker”
6. “Boys Latin”
7. “Come to Your Senses”
8. “Tropic of Cancer”
9. “Shadow of the Colossus”
10. “Lonely Wanderer”
11. “Principe Real”
12. “Selfish Gene”
13. “Acid Wash”