Skip to content

Lorde’s ‘Mockingjay’ Soundtrack Will Feature Grace Jones, Pusha T, HAIM, and More

The Hunger Games; Lorde; Mockingjay Pt. 1

Seventeen years old, and already with a Rolodex to put all of ours to shame: teenage singer/songwriter Lorde has put the word out to a dozen or so of her coolest and most famous friends for the soundtrack to the upcoming blockbuster flick, The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Pt. 1, and they have answered the call. The track list to the album, curated by the New Zealand crossover star, was revealed today (via iTunes preorder), and it is considerably tantalizing, with appearances from such names as Charli XCX, CHVRCHES, Tove Lo, Bat for Lashes and even ’80s underground icon Grace Jones. 

There’s also that Chemical Brothers and Miguel track that we first heard yesterday — nope, didn’t just dream that, apparently— and a Kanye West “reworking” of Lorde’s previously released contribution, “Yellow Flicker Beat.” It’ll hit stores on November 17.

“Curating the soundtrack for such a hotly-anticipated film was a challenge, but I jumped at the chance,” the pop prodigy said in a press release. “I think the soundtrack is definitely going to surprise people.” No doubt. Check out the full track list below, minus the mysteriously anonymous fifth song.

The Hunger Games: Mockingjay, Pt. 1 OST:

1. Stromae feat. Lorde, Pusha T, Q-Tip, and Haim – “Meltdown”
2. CHVRCHES – “Dead Air”
3. Tove Lo – “Scream My Name”
4. Charli XCX feat. Simon Bon – “Kingdom”
5. Various Artists – “Track 5”
6. Raury – “Lost Souls”
7. Lorde – “Yellow Flicker Beat”
8. Tinashé – “The Leap”
9. Bat for Lashes – “Plan the Escape”
10. Grace Jones – “Original Beast”
11. Lorde – “Flicker (Kanye West Rework)”
12. XOV – “Animal”
13. The Chemical Brothers feat. Miguel – “This Is Not a Game”
14. Lorde – “Ladder Song”