Skip to content

Ariel Pink Has a New Album and He Wants Your Phone Number

ariel pink, pom pom, put your number in my phone

Ariel Pink will return this fall with a new album of lo-fi pop treasures. The former SPIN profile subject has announced that his next record is called pom pom and it will be out on November 18 via 4AD, the same label that put out his two most recent LPs: 2010’s Before Today and 2012’s Mature Themes. Unlike those albums, pom pom is credited solely to Ariel Pink, and not to the band Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti.

A press release promises that the new full-length will deliver “unfiltered Ariel,” meaning “infectious tales of romance, murder, frog princes, and Jell-O.” (There’s always room for Jell-O.) The upcoming album — billed as Pink’s “magnum opus” — spans 69 minutes and 17 tracks, including the just-released “Put Your Number in My Phone,” a low-key love ditty, more crush song than come-on. Stream it above, and scroll down for the full track list to pom pom, which will be available in double-LP, CD, and digital formats. (Also worth noting: Two songs on the album, “Jell-o” and “Plastic Raincoats in the Pig Parade,” were co-written with Kim Fowley, famed producer and former manager of the Runaways.) 

pom pom track list:

1. “Plastic Raincoats in the Pig Parade”
2. “White Freckles”
3. “Four Shadows”
4. “Not Enough Violence”
5. “Put Your Number in My Phone”
6. “One Summer Night”
7. “Nude Beach A G-Go”
8. “Dinosaur Carebears”
9. “Lipstick”
10. “Goth Bomb”
11. “Negativ Ed”
12. “Sexual Athletics”
13. “Jell-o”
14. “Black Ballerina”
15. “Picture Me Gone”
16. “Exile On Frog Street”
17. “Dayzed Inn Daydreams”