Skip to content

7 Albums to Stream: Robert Plant, Death From Above 1979, Ryan Adams, and More

robert plant, solo album

The Summer of Ass has come and gone, but there’s still plenty to look forward to this year — specifically new albums from Robert Plant, Ryan Adams, Death From Above 1979, and Tricky. Stream all of those and more by following the links below.

1) Robert Plant, Lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar.Lullaby and… The Ceaseless Roar is an expression of many kinds of rich, autumnal love: of the English countryside to which Plant recently returned after several years living and working in Nashville and Texas; of the musical diaspora he’s been exploring since Led Zeppelin first connected its American-inspired blues to North Africa in ‘Kashmir’; of the Celtic and Romantic literary lines he’s always favored; and of a woman, whom the songs’ narrator treasures but, for reasons upon which at least half of the album dwells, leaves behind.” (via NPR)

2) Death From Above 1979, The Physical World. “It’s been almost a decade since Death From Above 1979 released their seething, monstrous full-length debut You’re A Woman, I’m A Machine. As of right now, that’s the only proper album the band has ever released, but that’ll change next week. DFA1979 broke up in 2006 and got back together in 2011, and now they’ve gotten together with producer D. Sardy to record the follow-up album The Physical World, an album full of the sort of guitar riffs that we, as a society, are just not used to hearing anymore.” — Stereogum (via iTunes)

3) Ryan Adams, Ryan Adams. “Once known as a poster child for heedless prolificacy, Ryan Adams now seems to have discovered how to live at a human pace. His self-titled 14th album is his first in three years — a span that would have seemed inconceivable a decade ago. But the former Whiskeytown singer has settled down in several ways in recent years, for reasons both healthy (sobriety, marriage) and less so (a painful and career-threatening inner-ear disorder).” (via NPR)

4) Tricky, Adrian Thaws. “Ever since he made his name as a spectral carnival barker in the trip-hop troupe Massive Attack, Tricky has been a master of creeping, crawling mood music that exudes quiet defiance and makes followers consult their dictionaries every so often to reconvene with the precise definition of ‘crepuscular.’ For his 11th album, Tricky stays more or less in line — though with a bit of a new persona in tow.” (via NPR)

5) Tennis, Ritual in Repeat. “Serving as their third full-length effort and follow-up to last year’s Small Sound EP, the forthcoming LP features an all-star cast of producers, including Patrick Carney (The Black Keys), Jim Eno (Spoon), and Richard Swift (The Shins). All three have collaborated with the Denver-based duo previously, as Carney produced their 2012 album Young & Old while Eno and Swift both lent production to Small Sound.” — Consequence of Sound (via Pitchfork)

6) Vance Joy, Dream Your Life Away. Dream Your Life Away‘s single challenge was to show there’s more to Vance Joy than ‘Riptide.’ That it does it so effectively is unexpected. From the jaunty pop-folk strains of ‘Winds of Change’ (not a Scorpions cover), ‘Mess Is Mine’ and ‘Who Am I,’ to the love-lorn laments of ‘Wasted Time’ and single ‘First Time,’ Dream Your Life Away‘s a record that almost doesn’t need ‘Riptide.'” — Rolling Stone (via iTunes)

7) Delta Spirit, Into the Wide. “Originally from San Diego, the group relocated to Brooklyn to write the new album. Coming together in a post-Hurricane Sandy ‘flood-ruined, cave-like, rat-colonized room,’ Into the Wide is the band’s moodiest material to date. Continuing the group’s cross-country music-making trek, the new songs were recorded in Atlanta with Ben Allen (Animal Collective, Deerhunter).” (via Exclaim!)