Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon Streams His Rap Album With Astronautalis

Bon Iver's Justin Vernon Streams His Rap Album With Astronautalis

Never one to not be working on a dozen projects, Bon Iver’s Justin Vernon now teams up with Minneapolis MC Astronautalis to release De Oro, an experimental rap album credited to Jason Feathers. The wild and weird nine-track album is streaming now at Pitchfork.

“I want to meet your boyfriend / I wanna know his name,” Vernon howls with a warble on opening cut “Leave Your Stain,” which plays similarly to his appearances on Kanye West’s noise-hop opus, YeezusThe man is a strong presence throughout the album, largely channeling his Volcano Choir style of singing, though Bon Iver bandmate S. Carey pitches in too. And while Vernon has said his Grammy-winning outfit is not his main priority at the moment, the group did recently release a single for Zach Braff’s Wish I Was Here soundtrack.

De Oro will be available for digital download on August 19, and a physical copy is set for release sometime in the fall. Check out the track list below, and scroll through the Pitchfork stream to see a list of album credits and special thanks that includes a shoutout to “Demon Baby Satan.”

De Oro track list:

1. “Leave Your Stain”
2. “Young as Fuck”
3. “Courtyard Marriott”
4. “Canary in a Goldmine”
5. “Hot Forever”
6. “Sacred Math”
7. “Cyclone”
8. “Pay the Guard”
9. “Gold Standard”



you may like

Scroll to Top