Skip to content

Hear Jim James, Elvis Costello, and a Mumford Sing Lost Bob Dylan Lyrics

New Basement Tapes Jim James Bob Dylan Elvis Costello Nothing To It

A cache of Bob Dylan’s lyrics that date back to his legendary Basement Tapes sessions was discovered recently and producer T Bone Burnett saw fit to put together a tribute. Rather than simply let the words loose, he assembled a collaborative project featuring a star-studded cast including former Dylan tourmate Jim James, Elvis Costello, Marcus Mumford, Dawes‘ Taylor Goldsmith, and Carolina Chocolate Drops’ Rhiannon Giddens.

What resulted from their efforts makes up Lost on the River: The New Basement Tapes, a 20-song collection composed entirely of songs actualized from those found Zimmy lyrics. Today, the group has shared “Nothing To It,” a spirited, rootsy number that owes as much to Dylan’s friends in the Band as it does to the songwriter himself. Listen to that above and check out the record’s track list below.

Lost On The River: The New Basement Tapes track list:

1. “Down on the Bottom”
2. “Married to My Hack”
3. “Kansas City”
4. “Spanish Mary”
5. “Liberty Street”
6. “Nothing to It”
7. “Golden Tom – Silver Judas”
8. “When I Get My Hands on You”
9. “Duncan and Jimmy”
10. “Florida Key”
11. “Hidee Hidee Ho #11”
12. “Lost on the River #12”
13. “Stranger”
14. “Card Shark”
15. “Quick Like a Flash”
16. “Hidee Hidee Ho #16”
17. “Diamond Ring”
18. “The Whistle Is Blowing”
19. “Six Months in Kansas City (Liberty Street)”
20. “Lost on the River #20”