Skip to content

Hear the Unicorns Cover Daniel Johnston’s ‘Rocketship’ in Lovely Weirdness

Eerily, the Unicorns predicted their return the last time we heard from them, via The Unicorns: 2014. That 2004 EP was the beloved odd-pop band’s final missive, but they’ve reunited at last, bearing with them news of a tour with Arcade Fire and a reissue of their classic third album, Who Will Cut Our Hair When We’re Gone? The digital master of that (also strangely predictively titled) release will arrive July 29, and feature four bonus tracks. One of those can be heard below — a previously unreleased cover of Daniel Johnston’s “Rocketship” that features that trademark Unicorns combination of loose guitar, keyboard squelch, and warm vocals. Other extras include the never-before-heard “Let Me Sleep,” 2014 cut “Emasculate the Masculine,” and a live version of “Haunted House.” The CD and limited vinyl versions (pink and black) arrive August 26 via the band’s own Caterpillar Records.

The Unicorns combine the talents of Nicholas Thorburn (Islands, Mister Heavenly) and Alden Penner (Clues, Hidden Worlds). Track list and tour dates beneath the player.

The Unicorns tour dates:

August 1 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Forum*
August 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Forum*
August 22 – Brooklyn, NY @ Barclay’s Center*
August 23 – Brooklyn, NY @ Barclay’s Center*
August 24 – Brooklyn, NY @ Barclay’s Center*
September 21 – POP Montreal – Montreal, QC @ Metropolis Theatre (Tickets)

* w/ Arcade Fire, Dan Deacon

Who Will Cut Our Hair When We’re Gone? track list:

1. “I Don’t Wanna Die
2. “Tuff Ghost
3. “Ghost Mountain
4. “Sea Ghost
5. “Jellybones
6. “The Clap
7. “Child Star
8. “Let’s Get Known
9. “I Was Born (A Unicorn)
10. “Tuff Luff
11. “Inoculate the Innocuous
12. “Les Os
13. “Ready to Die
14. “Rocketship” ^
15. “Let Me Sleep” ^
16. “Evacuate the Vacuous” ^
17. “Haunted House” (live) ^

^ digital-only bonus track