Skip to content

Jack White Covers Led Zeppelin, Unearths Rarities in ‘Lazaretto’ Tour Kickoff

Jack White, 'Lazaretto,' tour, kickoff, Led Zeppelin cover,

Jack White’s 2014 tour got underway last night at Cain’s Ballroom in Tulsa, Oklahoma, and if the opening setlist is any guide, audiences this summer are going to be in for some surprises.

The former White Stripes leader releases his new album, Lazaretto, on June 10 via Third Man Records/Columbia, and naturally he played a few songs from that. That includes advance instrumental “High Ball Stepper” and single “Lazaretto,” plus “Three Women” (which he debuted live in Nashville for Record Store Day) and the live premieres of “Alone in My Home” and “Temporary Ground.”

But he also worked what Antiquiet calls a “lengthy snippet” of Led Zeppelin’s 1969 “The Lemon Song” into “Steady, as She Goes,” the 2006 single by White band the Raconteurs. He performed “You Know That I Know,” an unfinished Hank Williams song the Third Man boss recorded for a 2011 compilation. And he dug up “Rose With the Broken Neck,” one of the songs he worked on from Danger Mouse and Daniele Luppi’s 2011 album Rome.

White didn’t perform any Dead Weather songs. But he did revisit his 2012 solo debut, Blunderbuss, for “Freedom at 21,” “Sixteen Saltines,” and more. And don’t worry, White Stripes touchstones like “Seven Nation Army,” “My Doorbell,” and “Fell in Love With a Girl” were all there. The last one came in a “country-fried version,” according to Antiquiet, which also points out White has traded his all-male Buzzards and all-female Peacocks backing bands from his previous tour for a more compact unit. 

There’s no decent footage yet, but you can check out the setlist below (via, and scroll down for the studio version of “Lazaretto.”

Jack White’s May 29 set list at Cain’s Ballroom in Tulsa, Oklahoma:

“Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground” 
“Missing Pieces”
“High Ball Stepper”
“Temporary Ground” 
“Alone in My Home”
“Fell in Love With a Girl”
“You Know That I Know”
“Hotel Yorba”
“We’re Going to Be Friends”
“Hypocritical Kiss”
“Icky Thump”
“Sixteen Saltines

“Freedom at 21” 
“Hello Operator”
“The Rose With the Broken Neck”
“Three Women”
“You’ve Got Her in Your Pocket”
“Top Yourself “
“My Doorbell”
“Steady As She Goes” > “Lemon Song” 
“Seven Nation Army” > “Little Bird” > “Seven Nation Army”