Skip to content

White Fence Announces Ty Segall-Produced Studio Debut

White Fence Ty Segall New Album Announce

Given that this time a couple of years ago neither of them seemed to be able to sit still, White Fence’s Tim Presley and former SPIN cover star Ty Segall have been eerily quiet of late. That ends today with the announcement of Presley’s sixth solo record, For The Recently Found Innocent, which is both his first solo LP for Drag City and his first recorded in a studio.

When we spoke to Presley last year prior to the release of his most recent album, Cyclops Reap, he hinted that his period of disillusionment with the studio may be coming to an end. Presley said at the time that he wanted his next release “to be a bigger deal, not just a bedroom affair.” With Segall’s hands on deck for the second time and a pro space secured, he may have achieved just that.

Or, as Presley worded it in the press release, “I was the farmer and this was Ty’s soup. He somehow knows exactly what I hear.”

We’ll get to taste the soup on July 22, when For the Recently Found Innocent drops on Drag City. That’s Presley’s full zany note below, alongside the album cover, track list, and a handful of upcoming tour dates.

Fear, anger, pain, anxiety. Guilty! I needed something new. I needed to be free and innocent. I was floating in my room. Sick of the wall Bounce-A-LuLa. I could not get high. I wanted to put some songs in someone else’s room. I wanted to see what they sounded like with a real drummer. I wanted to see what it would sound like using an Aliens ear. For a lack of a cooler/humble word, Ty Segall “produced” this album.

I had to choose the songs. We then went into Ty’s Fiat-sized garage and recorded them. He placed the microphones, hit record and played drums on some songs. Then Nick Murray was called in to finish the rest of the drums. Nick was perfect, seeing as he’d been a solid member of the live group, and I had played demo versions of most of these for him during car rides. This all was a bit different to the WF formula. I had to put dates on a calendar. It forced me to pick the best songs of the litter, and apply those to the tools I had: Ty Segall, Nick Murray, musical instruments & tape. We then dumped all that LA jive into Eric Bauer’s studio in San Francisco. Added some things, and then Ty mixed it all up. I was the farmer and this was Ty’s soup. He somehow knows exactly what I hear.

This record, I had to make a change, not drastic, but a change nonetheless. My room was tired of me, so we took a break, and I fucked some other room.

“Credence of substances, rights of any sex, and situations of finding a place in this world now next. From the drug dealer, to the honest stealer. From the homeless ex-solider to the privileged creep, to the fine Latina walking down the street. We are all guilty of anger, pain, envy & greed… the recently found innocent …. we all will soon be freed.”

White Fence tour dates:

May 7 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Church on York *
May 8 – San Francisco, CA @ Depot
May 9 – San Francisco, CA @ Great American Music Hall *
May 10 – Santa Cruz, CA @ Rio Theatre *
May 17 – Wonder Valley, CA @ Deserted at The Palms

For the Recently Found Innocent track list:

1. “The Recently Found”
2. “Anger! Who Keeps You Under?”
3. “Like That”
4. “Sandra (When the Earth Dies)” 
5. “Wolf Gets Red Faced” 
6. “Goodbye Law” 
7. “Arrow Man” 
8. “Actor”
9. “Hard Water”  
10. “The Light Afraid of What It’s Worth”  
11. “Fear” 
12. “Raven on White Cadillac”  
13. “Paranoid Bait”
White Fence Ty Segall New Album Announce