Skip to content

A Guy From the Walkmen Wrote a Perfect Kids’ Song About ‘The Beatles’

Walkmen Walter Martin 'The Beatles' Video When Ringo Shook His Mop

The Walkmen only announced their “extreme hiatus” in December, and already we have three solo albums on the way: frontman Hamilton Leithauser’s Black Hours, bassist Peter Matthew Bauer’s Liberation!, and organist Walter Martin’s We’re All Young Together. Last time we heard from the last name on that list, he was yodeling with Karen O on a tune called “Sing to Me.” Now we get another welcome treat in the form of, yes, a perfect children’s song about the Fab Four dubbed “The Beatles (When Ringo Shook His Mop).” You can watch the video above, which finds Martin unveiling the new song backed by sizable band. The bouncy beat supports a spot-on boiling down of the legendary band’s constituent parts: “John’s songs are dark and pretty / Paul’s songs are sweet little ditties / Ringo’s are silly, and George’s come from the Far East.” That clip, the album art, and the track list premiered over at Parents Magazine, but it’s excellent for all ages. After all, we’re all young together.

We’re All Young Together track list:

1. “We’re All Young Together” ft. Alec Ounsworth
2. “We Like The Zoo” (‘Cause We’re Animals Too) ft. Matt Berninger
3. “I-M-A-G-I-N-A-T-I-O-N” ft. Kat Edmonson
4. “Rattlesnakes” ft. Karen O and Nick Zinner
5. “Sing To Me” ft. Karen O
6. “The Beatles (When Ringo Shook His Mop)” ft. Hamilton Leithauser, Nick Stumpf, Josh Wise, and Matt Iwanusa
7. “If I Were a Tiger” ft. Martin McAlevey & Nina Dhongia
8. “Costa Rica”
9. “Hey Sister” ft. Kat Edmonson
10. “It’s a Dream”