Premieres \

Stream Unwound’s Massive, 32-Track ‘Rat Conspiracy’ Box Set

Treasure trove includes two remastered LPs and slew of '90s rarities

The Numero Group’s exhaustive Unwound reissue campaign continues on March 18, when the archival label releases Rat Conspiracy, a 32-track set collecting two full albums and a host of rarities, live recordings, and singles.

The second installment in a four-part retrospective series, Rat Conspiracy follows last year’s Kid Is Gone, which covered the post-hardcore crew’s nascent days, leading up to their proper debut album, 1993’s Fake Train. Available in digital and vinyl formats, the upcoming reissue pairs Fake Train with Unwound’s 1994 follow-up, New Plastic Ideas, and bundles in a third LP featuring the “Mkultra” and “Negated” singles, little-heard radio sessions, rarities salvaged from old compilations, and a menacing cover of the Minutemen’s “Plight.”

Rat Conspiracy (which takes its name from a one-time working title for Fake Train) also includes vintage photographs and a 10,000-word narrative written by “latter-day Unwound diarist” David Wilcox. Best of all, though, is the fact that all 32 of the box set’s tracks are streaming right here at SPIN. For a sprawling tour through Unwound’s open-nerve noise-punk, dive into Rat Conspiracy below.

Pre-order the package through the Numero Group. A special bonus LP containing a demo version of Fake Train recorded by Nation of Ulysses’ Tim Green is also up for grabs. That mail-order only vinyl is limited to 1,000 copies.