Skip to content

Walkmen’s Peter Matthew Bauer Sings ‘Latin American Ficciones’

Peter Matthew Bauer, the Walkmen, "Latin American Ficciones"

The Walkmen’s “extreme hiatus” keeps leading, paradoxically enough, to more and more new music. The latest Walkman to go solo is founding member Peter Matthew Bauer, whose new album Liberation! comes out in the United States on June 24 via Mexican Summer. First offering “Latin American Ficciones,” which you can stream below (via Pitchfork), has no over trace of the en español tinge of the title: Instead, as a scruffy, reverb-spaced take on heartland American rock, it brings to mind fellow East Coast highway dreamers the War on Drugs. The Walkmen recently reunited for a day, after which member Walter Martin announced a solo debut and then frontman Hamilton Leithauser followed suit. What’s the plural of “Walkmen”?

Liberation! track list:

1. “I Was Born in an Ashram”
2. “Latin American Ficciones”
3. “Philadelphia Raga”
4. “Fortune Tellers”
5. “Shiva the Destroyer”
6. “Liberation!”
7. “Scientology Airplane Conversations”
8. “Istanbul Field Recording”
9. “Irish Wake in Varanasi (For Big Pete Devlin)”
10. “Shaved Heads & Pony Tails”
11. “You Are the Chapel”

Peter Matthew Bauer tour dates:

March 6 – Brooklyn, NY @ Baby’s All Right
March 8 – Philadelphia, PA @ MilkBoy
Marc 11 – Austin, TX @ Hotel Vegas (SXSW)
March 13 – Austin, TX @ Buffalo Billiards (SXSW)