Skip to content

Thee Oh Sees Drop Reverb-Bomb ‘Penetrating Eye’

Thee Oh Sees, 'Drop,' "Penetrating Eye," John Dwyer

Thee Oh Sees’ indefinite hiatus turned out to be mercifully brief. The garage-rock champs will release new album Drop on April 19 — that’s Record Store Day 2014 — via frontman John Dwyer’s Castle Face label. According to Pitchfork, the follow-up to last year’s Floating Coffin “was recorded in a banana ripening warehouse” with drummer Chris Woodhouse. Guests include Mikal Cronin, Greer McGettrick, and Casafis.

Listen to opening track and first single “Penetrating Eyes,” which starts softly but bursts thrillingly into heavy-guitared, la-la-la-ing psych-rock, below. As for that hiatus, while Dwyer had previously promised an early-2014 album, it’s unclear if there will be live shows. Dwyer also has a solo album on the way February 25 as Damaged Bug.

Drop track list:

1. “Penetrating Eye”
2. “Encrypted Bounce”
3. “Savage Victory”
4. “Put Some Reverb on My Brother”
5. “Drop”
6. “Camera (Queer Sound)”
7. “King’s Noise”
8. “Transparent World”
9. “The Lens”