News \

Oasis Sweeten Album Reissues With ‘Original 1993 Demos’ Tape

'Definitely Maybe' comes first on May 20 via Big Brother Recordings

It’s now Oasis’ turn on the reissue merry-go-round, but the iconic Britpop band is throwing in an intriguing cassette. The Gallagher brothers and company announced today they’ll be putting out remastered, expanded editions of their first three studio albums. Plus, a new version of their original demo tape.

The first entry in the reissue series dubbed Chasing the Sun will be 1994 debut Definitely Maybe, arriving on May 20 via Big Brother Recordings. That’ll be preceded by a 12-inch vinyl edition of the album’s first single, “Supersonic,” on April 19 for Record Store Day. As for the gin and tonic, well, how much do you want it?

Most intriguing for longtime Oasis fans might be Original 1993 Demos, billed as a “replica” of the tape the band handed out before signing to a label. Only eight copies of the original tape existed, according to the announcement. Definitely Maybe producer Mark Coyle has written sleeve notes for the new cassette, which you can order “for a limited period only” via Oasis’ website.

The remastered Definitely Maybe will be available in standard, deluxe, and super-deluxe editions. The latter varieties include two CDs packaging up B-sides, rarities, and non-album single “Whatever.” Oasis have already collected a handful of these B-sides on 1998 compilation The Masterplan, and it’s an area where they were generally strong. If you haven’t heard their bleary live “I Am the Walrus” cover, now’s your chance. Joob, joob, joob-ahhh.

(What’s the Story) Morning Glory and Be Here Now reissues are planned for later this year. The demo cassette, though!

Definitely Maybe special edition track list:

Disc 1
1. “Rock ‘n’ Roll Star”
2. “Shakermaker”
3. “Live Forever”
4. “Up in the Sky”
5. “Columbia”
6. “Supersonic”
7. “Bring it on Down”
8. “Cigarettes & Alcohol”
9. “Digsy’s Dinner”
10. “Slide Away”
11. “Married With Children”

Disc 2
1. “Columbia (White Label Demo)”
2. “Cigarettes & Alcohol (Demo)”
3. “Sad Song”
4. “I Will Believe (Live)”
5. “Take Me Away”
6. “Alive (Demo)”
7. “D’Yer Wanna Be A Spaceman?”
8. “Supersonic (Live)”
9. “Up in the Sky (Acoustic)”
10. “Cloudburst”
11. “Fade Away”
12. “Listen Up”
13. “I Am the Walrus (Live Glasgow Cathouse June ’94)”
14. “Whatever”
15. “(It’s Good) to Be Free”
16. “Half the World Away”

Disc 3
1. “Supersonic (Live At Glasgow Tramshed)”
2. “Rock ‘n’ Roll Star (Demo)”
3. “Shakermaker (Live Paris in-store)”
4. “Columbia (Eden Studios Mix)”
5. “Cloudburst (Demo)”
6. “Strange Thing (Demo)”
7. “Live Forever (Live Paris in-store)”
8. “Cigarettes & Alcohol (Live At Manchester Academy)”
9. “D’Yer Wanna Be A Spaceman? (Live At Manchester Academy)”
10. “Fade Away (Demo)”
11. “Take Me Away (Live At Manchester Academy)”
12. “Sad Song (Live At Manchester Academy)”
13. “Half the World Away (Live, Tokyo hotel room)”
14. “Digsy’s Dinner (Live, Paris in-store)”
15. “Married With Children (Demo)”
16. “Up in the Sky (Live Paris in-store)”
17. “Whatever (Strings)”

Original 1993 Demos cassette track list:

Side One:
“Cloudburst “
“D’Yer Wanna Be a Spaceman?”
“Strange Thing “

Side Two:
“Bring It on Down “
“Married With Children”
“Fade Away”
“Rock ‘n’ Roll Star”

“Supersonic” 120inch single, Record Store Day limited edition track list:

A: “Supersonic”
B1. “Take Me Away”
B2. “I Will Believe (Live)”

Tags: Music News, oasis