Skip to content

LCD Soundsystem’s Final Show Chronicled in Blockbuster Five-LP Set

lcd soundsystem, james murphy, madison square garden, live album

LCD Soundsystem have been dead and buried for almost three years now, but the DFA all-stars still have one more album in them. On April 19, a.k.a. Record Store Day 2014, Warner Bros. will release a live album documenting LCD’s legendary final show at Madison Square Garden. Titled The Long Goodybe: LCD Soundsystem Live at Madison Square Garden, the upcoming vinyl set will be spread across five LPs and capture the entire April 2011 performance, a farewell that stretched nearly four hours.

The Long Goodbye will see wide release on May 20, the same day it becomes available digitally. LCD Soundsystem main man James Murphy produced and mixed the record himself. In a 2013 interview, the 44-year-old mastermind (and coffee-maker/subway enthusiast) discussed the process of assembling the send-off package, saying, “It’s killing me… I mixed it significantly differently than the film [Shut Up and Play the Hits], because the film is mixed for your eye and the record is mixed for your ears. The film is mixed digitally, because you have to watch it in a theater and make little adjustments all through for a four-hour film, whereas the record is just mixed analog to tape, the way I normally do. But it took forever, because I’m not really on a label anymore.”

The album’s track list includes 28 tunes and features guest vocals from Arcade Fire’s Win Butler and Régine Chassagne as well as comedian Reggie Watts. Also included is a masterful rendition of LCD Soundsystem’s first-ever single, “Losing My Edge.” Watch Murphy and associates perform the track at MSG above, and find the full track list to The Long Goodbye below.

The Long Goodbye: LCD Soundsystem Live at Madison Square Garden track list:

1. “Dance Yrself Clean”
2. “Drunk Girls”
3. “I Can Change”
4. “Time to Get Away”
5. “Get Innocuous!”
6. “Daft Punk Is Playing at My House”
7. “Too Much Love”
8. “All My Friends”
9. “Tired” / “Heart of the Sunrise”
10. “45:33 Intro”
11. “You Can’t Hide (Shame On You)”
12. “Sound of Silver”
13. “Out in Space”
14. “Ships Talking”
15. “Freak Out” / “Starry Eyes”
16. “Us v Them”
17. “North American Scum”
18. “Bye Bye Bayou”
19. “You Wanted a Hit”
20. “Tribulations”
21. “Movement”
22. “Yeah”
23. “Someone Great”
24. “Losing My Edge”
25. “Home”
26. “All I Want”
27. “Jump Into the Fire”
28. “New York, I Love You But You’re Bringing Me Down”