News \

Easy Sound Label Launches With Vetiver, Isobel Campbell, Papercuts, and More

Celebration plans include Record Store Day releases and Noise Pop showcase

Indie labels come and go, but it’s always a good sign when a new one launches with a respectably curated roster. So keep an eye on Los Angeles’ Easy Sound Recording Company, which now reps Vetiver, Howlin Rain, Isobel Campbell, Papercuts, the Donkeys, Rodrigo Amarante (of Little Joy and Los Hermanos) and EDJ, the new project from Fruit Bats mastermind Eric D. Johnson.

The label’s inauguaral offerings will enter the world on Record Store Day, April 19, in the form of three 7-inch singles. Vetiver, Howlin Rain, Papercuts, the Donkeys, Rodrigo Amarante, and EDJ are slated for split releases featuring new or previously unheard tracks. Following that, May 6 will see the release of the label’s first LPs, Papercuts’ Life Among the Savages and Rodrigo Amarante’s Cavalo. The Donkeys’ Ride the Black Wave will drop on June 3.

“Starting Easy Sound seemed to happen almost on its own,” label GM Stephen Brower said in a statement. “I’ve loved these bands for years, and in the last year or so, they all starting hitting my orbit over and over … The possibility of creating a label home for (and with) what was already an amazing congregation of artists is something that just made complete sense.”

On top of all that, the label will be hosting a baptism of sorts at San Francisco’s Noise Pop Festival when Papercuts, Vetiver, the Donkeys, and EDJ will perform on February 26. Check out Easy Sound’s official site for more details.