Skip to content

Arctic Monkeys, David Bowie Are the 2014 Brit Awards’ Big Winners

arctic monkeys brit awards 2014

The 2014 BRIT Awards have come and gone at London’s O2 Arena, and, for the first time ever, fans around the world were able to live-stream the annual ceremony. Arctic Monkeys were the night’s big winners taking home Album of the Year and British Group after opening the ceremony with a flame-lit “R U Mine?”. David Bowie, favored for the night’s big award, took British Male Solo Artist instead, sending supermodel Kate Moss to accept on his behalf. Other notable wins: Lorde for International Female Artist (her first Brit Award); Ellie Goulding for British Female Artist; Daft Punk for International Group; and Bruno Mars for International Male Artist.

Other performances included Beyoncé’s “XO” live debut, Bruno Mars, Ellie Goulding, Bastille, One Direction, Lorde and Disclosure’s collaboration featuring AlunaGeorge, Rudimental, and Pharrell and Nile Rodgers’ show-closing medley of “Get Lucky” and Oscar-nominated “Happy,” among others.

Prince made an early cameo with his 3rdEyeGirl backing band and posed for a selfie with the night’s emcee James Corden. Noel Gallagher was also in the house to present British Male Solo Artist, and quipped that David Bowie is too cool for this shit.

Find the full list of winners in bold below.

MasterCard British Album of the Year

Arctic Monkeys, AM (winner)
Bastille, All This Bad Blood
David Bowie, The Next Day
Disclosure, Settle
Rudimental, Home

Best Producer

Flood and Alan Moulder (winner)
Ethan Johns
Paul Epworth

British Breakthrough Act

Bastille (winner)
Laura Mvula
London Grammar
Tom Odell

British Female Solo Artist

Ellie Goulding (winner)
Jessie J
Laura Marling
Laura Mvula

British Group

Arctic Monkeys (winner)
One Direction

British Male Solo Artist

David Bowie (winner)
Jake Bugg
James Blake
John Newman
Tom Odell

British Single

Rudimental, “Waiting All Night” (winner)
Bastille, “Pompeii”
Calvin Harris and Ellie Goulding, “I Need Your Love”
Disclosure, “White Noise”
Ellie Goulding, “Burn”
John Newman, “Love Me Again”
Naughty Boy, “La, La, La”
Olly Murs, “Dear Darlin'”
One Direction, “One Way or Another”
Passenger, “Let Her Go”

Critics’ Choice Award

Sam Smith (winner)
Chlöe Howl
Ella Eyre

International Female Solo Artist

Lorde (winner)
Janelle Monáe
Katy Perry
Lady Gaga

International Group

Daft Punk (winner)
Arcade Fire
Kings of Leon
Macklemore and Ryan Lewis

International Male Solo Artist

Bruno Mars (winner)
John Grant
Justin Timberlake