Skip to content

Beck Teases ‘Morning Phase’ With Vinyl-Cutting Video, Sets Release Date

Beck, 'Morning Phase,' track list, video, "Blue Moon"

Beck’s Morning Phase will arrive on February 25 via Capitol Records, as the video above indicates. The alt-pop wayfarer’s 12th album, one of SPIN’s 50 Albums You Gotta Hear in 2014, previously had a release month but not a specific date. What’s more, the clip also contains a snippet of what a rep confirms is “Blue Moon,” a song that’s also set to appear on HBO’s Girls (and its accompanying soundtrack, Girls Volume 2: All Adventurous Women Do). It’s a gorgeous bit of sunny, strummy psych-pop, in keeping with his cited California influences. Listen above while watching the album’s vinyl edition be cut, and check out the cover art below.

Beck, 'Morning Phase,' cover art

Morning Phase vinyl track list:
Side A
1. “Cycle”
2. “Morning”
3. “Heart Is a Drum”
4. “Say Goodbye”
5. “Blue Moon”
6. “Unforgiven”

Side B
1. “Wave”
2. “Don’t Let It Go”
3. “Blackbird Chain”
4. “Phase” 5. “Turn Away”
6. “Country Down”
7. “Waking Light”