Skip to content

Arcade Fire, M83, Mike Patton Land on Oscars 2014 Best Original Score Short List

arcade fire, m83, oscars, best original score

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the not-so-short list of contenders for next year’s Best Original Score award, and Arcade Fire and M83 are among the artists eligible. As Deadline reports, the final group of nominees will be selected from a pool of 114 film scores. Arcade Fire’s work for Spike Jonze’s upcoming romance Her has a shot at an Oscar nod, as does M83’s soundtrack for the Tom Cruise-fronted blockbuster Oblivion. (Note that the former officially cites William Butler and Owen Pallet as composers, while the latter is credited to Anthony Gonzalez and Joseph Trapanese.) 

Other notable inclusions: Mike Patton’s score for The Place Beyond the Pines, David Wingo’s music for Mud, Jóhann Jóhannsson’s Prisoners composition, the Arthur Newman score done by DeVotchKa’s Nick Urata, and the Trance score crafted by Rick Smith of Underworld. Cliff Martinez is also on the list of hopefuls, thanks to his contribution to Robert Redford’s The Company You Keep; his Essential soundtrack to Only God Forgives, sadly, was not recognized. 

The 2014 Oscar nominations will be announced on January 16, and the 86th Annual Academy Awards are booked for March 2. Scroll down for a full list of scores that have a chance at being nominated, arranged alphabetically by film.

The full 2014 Academy Awards Best Original Score short list: 

Admission, Stephen Trask, composer
Ain’t Them Bodies Saints, Daniel Hart, composer
All Is Lost, Alex Ebert, composer
Alone Yet Not Alone, William Ross, composer
The Armstrong Lie, David Kahne, composer
Arthur Newman, Nick Urata, composer
At Any Price, Dickon Hinchliffe, composer
Austenland, Ilan Eshkeri, composer
Before Midnight, Graham Reynolds, composer
The Best Man Holiday, Stanley Clarke, composer
The Book Thief, John Williams, composer
The Butterfly’s Dream, Rahman Altin, composer
The Call, John Debney, composer
Captain Phillips, Henry Jackman, composer
Closed Circuit, Joby Talbot, composer
The Company You Keep, Cliff Martinez, composer
The Conjuring, Joseph Bishara, composer
Copperhead, Laurent Eyquem, composer
The Counselor, Daniel Pemberton, composer
The Croods, Alan Silvestri, composer
Despicable Me 2, Heitor Pereira, composer
Elysium, Ryan Amon, composer
Ender’s Game, Steve Jablonsky, composer
Enough Said, Marcelo Zarvos, composer
Epic, Danny Elfman, composer
Ernest & Celestine, Vincent Courtois, composer
Escape from Planet Earth, Aaron Zigman, composer
Escape from Tomorrow, Abel Korzeniowski, composer
Evil Dead, Roque Baños, composer
47 Ronin, Ilan Eshkeri, composer
42, Mark Isham, composer
Free Birds, Dominic Lewis, composer
Free China: The Courage to Believe, Tony Chen, composer
Fruitvale Station, Ludwig Goransson, composer
G.I. Joe: Retaliation, Henry Jackman, composer
Gangster Squad, Steve Jablonsky, composer
Gravity, Steven Price, composer
The Great Gatsby, Craig Armstrong, composer
The Hangover Part III, Christophe Beck, composer
Hansel & Gretel Witch Hunters, Atli Örvarsson, composer
Haute Cuisine, Gabriel Yared, composer
Her, William Butler and Owen Pallett, composers
The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug, Howard Shore, composer
Hollywood Seagull, Evgeny Shchukin, composer
Hours, Benjamin Wallfisch, composer
How Sweet It Is, Matt Dahan, composer
The Hunger Games: Catching Fire, James Newton Howard, composer
Identity Thief, Christopher Lennertz, composer
The Incredible Burt Wonderstone, Lyle Workman, composer
Insidious: Chapter 2, Joseph Bishara, composer
Instructions Not Included, Carlo Siliotto, composer
The Internship, Christophe Beck, composer
The Invisible Woman, Ilan Eshkeri, composer
Iron Man 3, Brian Tyler, composer
Jack the Giant Slayer, John Ottman, composer
Jobs, John Debney, composer
Kamasutra 3D, Sreejith Edavana and Saachin Raj Chelory, composers
Labor Day, Rolfe Kent, composer
Lee Daniels’ The Butler, Rodrigo Leão, composer
Live at the Foxes Den, Jack Holmes, composer
Love Is All You Need, Johan Söderqvist, composer
Mama, Fernando Velázquez, composer
Man of Steel, Hans Zimmer, composer
Mandela: Long Walk to Freedom, Alex Heffes, composer
The Missing Picture, Marc Marder, composer
Monsters University, Randy Newman, composer
The Mortal Instruments: City of Bones, Atli Örvarsson, composer
Mud, David Wingo, composer
Murph: The Protector, Chris Irwin and Jeff Widenhofer, composers
Now You See Me, Brian Tyler, composer
Oblivion, Anthony Gonzalez and Joseph Trapanese, composers
Oldboy, Roque Baños, composer
Olympus Has Fallen, Trevor Morris, composer
Oz The Great and Powerful, Danny Elfman, composer
Pacific Rim, Ramin Djawadi, composer
Pain & Gain, Steve Jablonsky, composer
Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters, Andrew Lockington, composer
Philomena, Alexandre Desplat, composer
The Place Beyond the Pines, Mike Patton, composer
Planes, Mark Mancina, composer
Prisoners, Jóhann Jóhannsson, composer
R.I.P.D., Christophe Beck, composer
Reaching for the Moon, Marcelo Zarvos, composer
Romeo & Juliet, Abel Korzeniowski, composer
Runner Runner, Christophe Beck, composer
Rush, Hans Zimmer, composer
Safe Haven, Deborah Lurie, composer
Salinger, Lorne Balfe, composer
Saving Mr. Banks, Thomas Newman, composer
The Secret Life of Walter Mitty, Theodore Shapiro, composer
Short Term 12, Joel P. West, composer
Side Effects, Thomas Newman, composer
The Smurfs 2, Heitor Pereira, composer
The Spectacular Now, Rob Simonsen, composer
Star Trek Into Darkness, Michael Giacchino, composer
Stoker, Clint Mansell, composer
Thor: The Dark World, Brian Tyler, composer
Tim’s Vermeer, Conrad Pope, composer
Trance, Rick Smith, composer
Turbo, Henry Jackman, composer
12 Years a Slave, Hans Zimmer, composer
2 Guns, Clinton Shorter, composer
The Ultimate Life, Mark McKenzie, composer
Unfinished Song, Laura Rossi, composer
Wadjda, Max Richter, composer
Walking with Dinosaurs, Paul Leonard-Morgan, composer
Warm Bodies, Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers
We Steal Secrets: The Story of WikiLeaks, Will Bates, composer
We’re the Millers, Theodore Shapiro and Ludwig Goransson, composers
What Maisie Knew, Nick Urata, composer
Why We Ride, Steven Gutheinz, composer
The Wind Rises, Joe Hisaishi, composer
Winnie Mandela, Laurent Eyquem, composer
The Wolverine, Marco Beltrami, composer