News \

Five-Time Nominee Janelle Monae to Present at the 2013 Soul Train Awards

'The Electric Lady' postpones tour dates for "mandatory vocal rest"

Janelle Monáe has been added to the list of presenters at this year’s Soul Train Awards, which will air on the BET and CENTRIC television networks on December 1. The Electric Lady joins a presenters lineup that includes Michelle Williams of Destiny’s Child, E-40, Toni Braxton, Kenny “Babyface” Edmonds, actress Vivica A. Fox, and comedian Bill Bellamy.

Monáe is also up for five Soul Train Awards: Best R&B/Soul Female Artist, the Ashford and Simpson Songwriter’s Award, Best Dance Performance, Video of the Year, and Best Collaboration. The latter four nominations are all for the SPIN interview subject’s collaborative single with Erykah Badu, “Q.U.E.E.N.” With nods in five categories, Monáe has the second-most nominations, tying with Justin Timberlake, “Primetime” guest Miguel, Robin Thicke, Chris Brown, and Tamar Braxton. Kendrick Lamar leads the pack with a total of six nominations.

That’s a spot of good news for the singer, who postponed her tour Tuesday (November 5), citing “mandatory vocal rest.” In a letter posted to her website and addressed to “all my fandroids, electric ladies, supporters and jam lovers,” Monae announced that she’d sit out dates in Anaheim, San Diego, and Phoenix, which, she says, “truly leaves me heartsick and shaken because I live for this: connecting with you and giving you a one of a kind concert experience. But alas, apparently even the most expertly designed android breaks down sometimes and must recharge…”

The 2013 Soul Train Awards will tape in Las Vegas on November 8 and will be hosted by actor/comedian Anthony Anderson. A number of performers are set to hit the stage, including Chaka Khan, Doug E. Fresh, Big Daddy Kane, Gladys Knight, Jennifer Hudson, and Wale.

Producers have also announced that living icon Dionne Warwick will receive this year’s Legend Award, and singer Keith Sweat will be given the Lifetime Achievement Award. Warwick will be honored with a special tribute performance featuring Gladys Knight, Ronald Isley, Eric Benet, Ruben Studdard, Kenny Lattimore, Bobby V, and Candice Glover. Faith Evans will join Keith Sweat onstage to duet on a medley of his biggest hits.

The 2013 Soul Train Awards on BET and CENTRIC on December 1 at 8 p.m. EST. For a full list of nominees, head over to BET’s website.