Skip to content

Stream Doug Keith’s J Mascis-Enriched ‘Pure Gold in the 70’s’

Doug Keith, Pure Gold in the '70s, j mascis, pony

Doug Keith serves as right-hand man to Sharon Van Etten on the road, but the New York-based singer-songwriter also maintains a solo career of his own. On February 11, Keith will share his latest album, Pony, through his very own The Village Label. First, though, comes lead single “Pure Gold in the 70’s,” a cinematic slow-burner that boasts two very distinct halves: the first layers strings and piano over a moody electronic pulse, the second erupts into a typically brilliant guitar solo from Dinosaur Jr.’s J Mascis. Stream the song below, and scroll further for the track list to Pony.

Pony track list:

1. “Harvest Home”
2. “I Will Burn For You”
3. “Long Shot”
4. “Pure Gold in the 70’s”
5. “The Apostles”
6. “You Can’t Stand to Be Alone”
7. “Black Metal Black”
8. “The Weather’s Fucking Awful”
9. “The Bone In Your Hand”