Skip to content

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds Plot Live Album for Black Friday 2013

nick cave, bad seeds, live from kcrw, record store day, back to black friday

November 29 wouldn’t really be a Black Friday without a little Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds. Luckily, the dastardly Australian outfit are planning to give their upcoming live album, Live From KCRW, an early release in conjunction with this year’s Back to Black Friday Record Store Day event. Due for a wide digital release on December 3, the 10-track set will first be available the day after Thanksgiving in CD and double-vinyl formats.

Recorded on April 18 between Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ two Coachella gigs, Live From KCRW captures a performance at Los Angeles’ Apogee Studio, done on behalf of (who else?) radio station KCRW. The session featured only a handful of the band members — Cave, bassist Martyn Casey, multi-instrumentalist Warren Ellis, percussionist Jim Sclavunos, and organist Barry Adamson — playing selections from their extensive songbook. Several tunes from this year’s excellent Push the Sky Away LP are highlighted (the title track, “Mermaids,” “Higgs Boson Blues,” and “Wide Lovely Eyes”), alongside older fare such as “Jack the Ripper” and “People Ain’t No Good.” The CD and vinyl editions will come with two bonus songs: “Into My Arms” and “God Is in the House.” 

Scroll down for the cover art and track list to Live From KCRW, which will eventually be bundled into a digital deluxe edition of Push the Sky Away. For a list of stores participating in this year’s Back to Black Friday soirée, consult the official Record Store Day website

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ Live From KCRW  track list: 

1. “Higgs Boson Blues”
2. “Far From Me”
3. “Stranger Than Kindness”
4. “The Mercy Seat”
5. “And No More Shall We Part”
6. “Wide Lovely Eyes”
7. “Mermaids”
8. “People Ain’t No Good”
9. “Push the Sky Away”
10. “Jack the Ripper”