Skip to content

Johnny Jewel Reissues ‘The Messenger,’ Channels ’80s in ‘The Hunt’ Video

johnny jewel, symmetry, italians do it better, the messenger, the hunt

Long before synth-master Johnny Jewel returned to the After Dark franchise, he shared The Messenger, a promo album crafted with his Desire bandmate Nat Walker. The duo — who dubbed themselves Symmetry — released the collaborative LP in 2011, but the 13-track collection went out of print. Now, as Pitchfork points out, The Messenger has been reissued on limited-edition clear vinyl and is currently available for purchase through Italians Do It Better

The quiet re-release comes with a music video for dusky instrumental “The Hunt.” As seen above, the visual collage honors Jewel’s ongoing obsession with the 1980s by cycling through images of Reagan-era pin-ups (there are definitely some NSFW flashes), professional athletes, musicians (look out for a quick LL Cool J cameo), and technology. Time-travel by pressing play, then find the track list for The Messenger below, and buy the record online.

For more Symmetry, stream the project’s Themes for an Imaginary Film, a two-hour opus that resembles Jewel’s contributions to the Drive soundtrack (which, of course, is one of the 40 Movie Soundtracks That Changed Alternative Music). And dive deeper into the Italians Do It Better output by streaming the After Dark 2 compilation

The Messenger track list: 

1. “Recurring Dream”
2. “The Messenger”
3. “Vanishing Point”
4. “Carousel”
5. “Waiting Room”
6. “Uptown Rain”
7. “Thicker Than Blood”
8. “Roulette”
9. “Lost In Time”
10. “Tunnel Vision
11. “Surface Control”
12. “The Dancer”
13. “The Hunt”