Skip to content

Joey Bada$$ Is Really Proud That Kendrick Lamar Likes Him

joey bada$$, hilary $wank, summer knights EP

Joey Bada$$ relives past glories in the just-released video for “Hilary $wank,” a jazzy cut off of the Brooklynite’s Summer Knights mixtape. The four-minute clip opens on vintage footage of Joey freestyling in his younger days, splices in some shots of the Pro Era collective, and features a quick cameo by Jimmy Fallon (courtesy of Bada$$’ 2012 appearance on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon). Kendrick Lamar also guests, thanks to a snippet of an interview in which the good kid, m.A.A.d city mastermind says all he can listen to is — yes, you guessed it — Joey Bada$$. Stitched in between all of those threads is a reverse-tracking shot of the Cinematic Music MC, who follows and lip-synchs at the camera as it (literally) moves backward through 2013. 

Speaking of this year: On October 29, Joey Bada$$ will release an official, commercial version of Summer Knights. Titled the Summer Knights EP, the upcoming seven-track collection pools together five highlights from the digital mixtape and tosses in two bonus exclusives: An alternate version of “My Yout” with Maverick Sabre on the guest list, and a new song called “My Jeep” that packs in assists from Meechie Darko, Issa Gold, and Chuck Strangers. Watch the “Hilary $wank” video above and scroll down for the track list to the Summer Knights EP.

Summer Knights EP track list: 

1. “Hilary $wank” 
2. “My Yout” (feat. Maverick Sabre)
3. “Sit N’ Prey” (feat. Dessy Hinds & T’nah Apex)
4. “95 Til Infinity”
5. “#LongLiveSteelo” (feat. T’nah Apex)
6. “My Jeep” (feat. Meechie Darko, Issa Gold, Chuck Strangers)
7. “My Yout” (feat. Collie Buddz)