Skip to content

West Coast Garage Scene Celebrated on Sonny Smith’s ‘I Need You Bad’ Comp

Sonny Smith 'I Need You Bad' Comp San Francisco Garage warm soda polyvinyl

The San Franscisco garage-rock scene is the focus of a new compilation curated by Sonny and the Sunsets‘ Sonny Smith. I Need You Bad highlights the city’s current scene, plus those of similar satellite outposts on the West Coast: Los Angeles, Portland, and, but a bridge apart, Oakland.

The album is a solid primer for anyone looking to discover some of the area’s underground gems. For a taste, stream the shimmering excellence of Warm Soda‘s “Tell Me in a Whisper” below.

With artwork by Shannon and the Clams’ Shannon Shaw, I Need You Bad will be released digitally, on slime-green vinyl (limited to 1,000 copies), and cassette (300 copies). The album is due out November 26 via Burger Records for the tape, and Polyvinyl for all other formats. Check out the Warm Soda song and track list below.

I Need You Bad Track List:

1. Warm Soda – “Tell Me in a Whisper”
2. Memories – “Higher”
3. Cool Ghouls – “Hot Summer”
4. Pure Bliss – “Thine Eyes”
5. Sonny and the Sunsets – “Those Drawings I Told You About”
6. Jessica Pratt – “Dreams”
7. Earth Girl Helen Brown – “Far Away Place”
8. Burnt Ones – “Premonition”
9. Magic Trick – “Miracle of Life”
10. Chris Cohen – “Open Theme”
11. Fronds – “Wash”
12. Little Wings – “All Lone House”
13. Wet Illustrated – “Honey Goes”
14. Sunfoot – “Why Do You Want to Throw a Brick”
15. The Sandwitches – “Sun in Rain”