Skip to content

Polaris Prize 2013 Live-Stream: METZ, Purity Ring, Metric, Colin Stetson, and More

metz, polaris music prize

The winner of this year’s Polaris Music Prize will be announced tonight (September 23) and fans can watch the crowning happen in real-time via the above live-stream. Pre-show coverage from AUX.TV begins at 7 p.m. EST, promising interviews and a behind-the-scenes look at the annual ceremony, while the gala proper kicks off at 8 p.m. EST.

As SPIN previously reported, short list nominees for the 2013 award — which honors the year’s best album by a Canadian artist — include Tegan and Sara‘s Heartthrob, Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!, Purity Ring’s Shrines, METZ’s METZ, Metric’s Synthetica, and Colin Stetson’s New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light. Aside from bragging rights, the champ will also be entitled to $30,000. Last year’s trophy-and-money-bundle went to Feist on the strength of 2011’s Metals. For what it’s worth, the winner is chosen by a Grand Jury of 11 who are part of a larger panel featuring more than 200 Canadian journalists, broadcasters, and programmers.

Viewers can expect musical performances from several Polaris hopefuls: Metric, METZ, Purity Ring, Colin Stetson, A Tribe Called Red, Whitehorse, Young Galaxy, and Zaki Ibrahim will all be playing live sets. Meanwhile, two-time past nominees Kathleen Edwards and Shad are hosting the event, which is being held at the Carlu in Toronto.

Scroll down for a full list of the current nominees.

Polaris Music Prize 2013 nominees: 

Tegan and Sara, Heartthrob
Godspeed You! Black Emperor, ‘Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!
Purity Ring, Shrines
Metric, Synthetica
Colin Stetson, New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light
Young Galaxy, Ultramarine
A Tribe Called Red, Nation II Nation
Whitehorse, The Fate of the World Depends on This Kiss
Zaki Ibrahim, Every Opposite