Skip to content

Stream Deep Cotton’s Defiant Funk Jam ‘Runaway Radio’

Deep Cotton

Deep Cotton’s Chuck Lightning and Nate “Rocket” Wonder have already left their fingerprints all over one notable 2013 release — the ATLiens helped produce Janelle Monáe’s recently released The Electric Lady — but on September 25, they’ll drop a collection of their own. The fast-approaching Runaway Radio EP is being billed as the world’s first-ever “Fixtape,” which, according to an official statement from Deep Cotton, means it’ll be available as a free download and will hopefully “‘fix’ the ills of the world through the peaceful and electrifying power of music.”

The funk-punk duo shared one song from the upcoming effort a few weeks ago (“We’re Far Enough From Heaven Now We Can Freak Out,” via Pigeons and Planes), and now they’ve fired off the title track, an ode to FM freedom that nods to fellow Georgians the B-52s. Stream “Runaway Radio” below and check a trailer for upcoming video “We’re Far Enough From Heaven Now We Can Freak Out” after that. Scroll further for the track list to the full EP, which will arrive via Deep Cotton’s official website


Runaway Radio EP track list:

1. “Swim Til You See the Light (Interlude)”
2. “We’re Far Enough From Heaven Now We Can Freak Out”
3. “The Reanimator (Concerning Electric Kool-Aid in Watts, UFOs in Harlem, and What Really Happened to Atlantis)”
4. “Fork & Knife”
5. “Milk Dies”
6. “Call to Glory (Interlude)”
7. “Runaway Radio”