Skip to content

Heidecker & Wood Sing the Joys of Cocaine on ‘Pompous’ Second Album

heidecker & wood, some things never stay the same

Heidecker & Wood, the soft rock-saluting duo of comedian/actor Tim Heidecker and composer/multi-instrumentalist Davin Wood, are set to release their second album. Some Things Never Stay the Same will arrive November 12 via Little Record Company.

The impending follow-up to 2011’s Starting From Nowhere will feature 11 new songs and boasts two cameos from Aimee Mann, as well as guest spots from Eric Johnson (the Shins, Fruit Bats), Rilo Kiley bassist Pierre de Reeder, guitarist Mike Bloom, and drummers Jason Boesel and Mike Green. 

According to an official announcement, “this is the self-indulgent sophomore album” from the pair’s pseudo-parodic project. “It’s by turns pompous, funny, overproduced, underbaked, overly serious and not serious enough,” the press release reads. “It’s an ode to the heyday of the great ’70s songwriters/studio rats — Randy Newman, Warren Zevon, Harry Nilsson, and, hell, even Boz Scaggs.” Throughout the LP, Heidecker & Wood channel Springsteenian rock gospel (“Salvation Street”), Pink Floyd-esque explorations of sound (“Sunday Man”), and blues-flavored rave-ups (bonus track “Waiting for Your Call”). 

Opening track “Cocaine” bites its riff from Warren Zevon’s “Werewolves of London,” offering a buoyant, horn-enhanced ode to the titular drug. “Cocaine keeps me awake,” Heidecker sings on the tune, “All through the night / All through the day.” Check out the song (which is billed as “probably the first truly honest depiction of the white lady in rock”) via the live video below. Scroll further for the track list to Some Things Never Stay the Same.


Some Things Never Stay the Same track list: 

1. “Cocaine”
2. “What Else Is New”
3. “Getaway Man”
4. “This Is Life”
5. “Tell Her I Love Her”
6. “Coming Home”
7. “Sunday Man”
8. “Hurricane”
9. “On Our Own”
10. “Salvation Street”
11. “Next Ten Years”