Skip to content

Stream Plankton Wat’s Radiant West Coast Tribute ‘Empire Mines’

Plankton Wat

Dewey Mahood helped found psychedelic Portland crew Eternal Tapestry, but the guitar maestro has since parted ways with his comrades to focus on his own project, Plankton Wat. Last year yielded the well-received Spirits LP, and this fall will bring a follow-up. Drifter’s Temple arrives on September 17 via Thrill Jockey Records, and with it comes “Empire Mines,” a dusky instrumental that honors Mahood’s childhood home of Northern California with frequent nods to the Grateful Dead. Enjoy it below.

Drifter’s Temple track list: 

1. “Toward the Golden City”
2. “Changing Winds”
3. “Klamath at Dusk”
4. “Nightfall”
5. “Empire Mines”
6. “Hash Smuggler’s Blues”
7. “Dance of Lumeria”
8. “Western Lament”
9. “Bread of Dreams”
10. “Siskiyou Caverns”

Upcoming Tour Dates:

September 11 – Brooklyn, NY @ Union Pool w/ Date Palms, Mountains, Good Willsmith
October 10 – Portland, OR @ Valentines (Record Release Show) w/ Grapefruit, Planets Around the Sun