Skip to content

Moonface Drowns in Sorrowful ‘Everyone Is Noah, Everyone Is the Ark’

spencer krug, moonface, julia with blue jeans on

Spencer Krug will unleash a new album under his Moonface moniker this fall. Out October 29 via Jagjaguwar, Julia With Blue Jeans On will be the project’s fourth release in as many years, following 2010’s Dreamland EP: Marimba and Shit-Drums, 2011’s Organ Music Not Vibraphone Like I’d Hoped, and 2012’s Essential With Siinai: Heartbreaking Bravery. The former Wolf Parade and Sunset Rubdown member is calling this one his “love record.”

According to his label, Krug has scaled back for his latest LP, doing away with electronic flourishes, overdubs, and effects in favor of just piano and vocals. To introduce his newly stripped-down sound, the indie renaissance man has shared the somber “Everyone Is Noah, Everyone Is the Ark.” SPIN described Moonface’s last record as “a headlong, electric leap into a pit of despair so black and bottomless as to be indefinable, like the ocean floor.” Here, Krug sounds like he’s waist-deep in rising water, waiting for a swell to swallow him whole.

Stream “Everyone Is Noah, Everyone Is the Ark” and preview the Julia With Blue Jeans On track list:


Julia With Blue Jeans On track list:

1. “Barbarian”
2. “Everyone is Noah, Everyone is the Ark”
3. “Barbarian II”
4. “November 2011”
5. “Dreamy Summer”
6. “Julia With Blue Jeans On”
7. “Love the House You’re In”
8. “First Violin”
9. “Black Is Back in Style”
10. “Your Chariot Awaits”