Skip to content

Hear the Darcys’ Moody Electronic Rock Salvo ‘The River’

The Darcys 'The River' Stream Warring Album

Toronto’s the Darcys have assembled quite a body of work in such a relatively short period of time. The quartet’s 2011 self-titled debut came by way of Arts & Crafts with a production assist from Dears main man Murray Lightburn. Last year they followed that with a full-length interpretation of the 1977 Steely Dan classic Aja (word to Mayer Hawthorne). And now they’re gearing up to drop the third piece in this unusual trilogy, Warring, produced by Tom McFall (Stars, Alcholic Faith Mission).

Warring is moving forward,” said the band via statement. “It’s learning in motion. Competition and survival, letting go to persevere. It is anxiety about the future and the triumph of life in the moment. It’s victory on will alone, the force that eradicates failure as an option.”

The opening salvo of that fight against inertia can be heard below. “The River” features the husky vocals of Jason Couse backed by shuffling percussion, Afro-beat bass-lines, electronic production, and bright guitar flourishes — a pretty hybrid of Local Natives and Atoms for Peace. 

The Darcys, Warring track list:

1. “Close to Me”
2. “Hunting”
3. “Horses Fell”
4. “Itchy Blood”
5. “The Pacific Theatre”
6. “The River”
7. “Pretty Girls”
8. “747s”
9. “Muzzle Blast”
10. “Lost Dogfights”