News \

Arcade Fire, Bon Iver Return Peter Gabriel’s Cover Love on Compilation

'And I'll Scratch Yours' also features David Byrne, Feist, Stephin Merritt, Brian Eno, and Lou Reed

Three years after Peter Gabriel released an album where he covered Radiohead, Arcade Fire, Bon Iver, Dadid Bowie, and more, some of those artists are paying it forward on an upcoming compilation. Arcade Fire, Bon Iver, Feist, David Byrne, Lou Reed, Brian Eno, Stephin Merritt, Paul Simon and more will cover Gabriel songs for And I’ll Scratch Yours, the follow-up to 2010’s “attractively knowing” Scratch My Back , the art-rock innovator has announced. While Bowie and Radiohead don’t appear, the other artists that selected for the original Scratch are all on hand — even Arcade Fire, despite a 2010 denial from their publicist (via Pitchfork). As Stereogum points out, Bon Iver’s gossamer, banjo-flecked take on Gabriel’s “Come Talk With Me” and Magnetic Fields man Merritt’s tinny synth-pop “Not One of Us” are already streaming online, as are the tracks by Reed, Simon, and Joseph Arthur. And I’ll Scratch Yours reaches itchy fingers on September 23 via Real World.

And I’ll Scratch Yours track list:

1. David Byrne – “I Don’t Remember”
2. Bon Iver – “Come Talk to Me”
3. Regina Spektor – “Blood of Eden”
4. Stephin Merritt – “Not One of Us”
5. Joseph Arthur – “Shock the Monkey”
6. Randy Newman – “Big Time”
7. Arcade Fire – “Games Without Frontiers”
8. Elbow – “Mercy Street”
9. Brian Eno – “Mother of Violence”
10. Feist – “Don’t Give Up” (feat. Timber Timbre)
11. Lou Reed – “Solsbury Hill”
12. Paul Simon – “Biko”