Skip to content

Moby Refuses to Leave His Neighborhood to Tour Star-Studded October Album

moby, innocents

Moby will return this fall with his 11th studio album, Innocents. The follow-up to 2011’s Destroyed. will arrive in early October, the 47-year-old announced on his website. A specific release date hasn’t been finalized yet, but Moby is aiming for October 1. “[Let’s] say october 1st,” he wrote in the early hours of July 1. “[But] that might not be the right date, as it’s 3 a.m and i’m honestly just guessing.” 

Non-committal due date aside, Moby actually shared a glut of background information on the upcoming record. The electronic wizard has spent the last 18 months working on the effort in his bedroom studio and co-produced the 12-track collection with Mark “Spike” Stent (Björk, Massive Attack, Muse). Innocents also features a stuffed guest list: The Flaming Lips’ Wayne Coyne, Mark Lanegan, Cold Specks, Damien Jurado, Skylar Grey, and Inyang Bassey all contributed to the full-length. 

“I spend most of my time alone in my studio, so for Innocents it seemed like a really nice idea to involve other people in the making of the record,” Moby said in an official statement. “Working with all of these collaborators has helped me to make a record that I’m very proud of, and working this way also gave me some semblance of a social life.”

But don’t expect Moby to leave his comfort zone for a full-blown tour. The techno virtuoso will play just three shows in support of his new LP, and every single one will happen in his hometown of Los Angeles. “[Maybe] at some point in my adult life i’ll do more elaborate touring, but for now i just want to play 3 shows near my house,” he wrote. “[So] to be clear: the whole entire innocents tour will be 3 shows. near my house. ideally within walking distance of/from my house. more details and information will follow via email.” 

Moby has also offered Innocents‘ first official single, the piano-led “A Case for Shame” (previously heard cut “The Lonely Night,” featuring Mark Lanegan, was released on Record Store Day earlier this year, but wasn’t dubbed a single). Watch the album’s announcement video above and stream “A Case for Shame,” which co-stars Cold Specks, below. 

Innocents track list: 

1. “Everything That Rises”
2. “A Case For Shame” (feat. Cold Specks)
3. “Almost Home” (feat. Damien Jurado)
4. “Going Wrong”
5. “The Perfect Life” (feat. Wayne Coyne)
6. “The Last Day” (feat. Skylar Grey)
7. “Don’t Love Me” (feat. Inyang Bassey)
8. “A Long Time”
9. “Saints”
10. “Tell Me” (feat. Cold Specks)
11. “The Lonely Night” (feat. Mark Lanegan)
12. “The Dogs”