Skip to content

Zola Jesus Strings Up Her Songbook for Orchestral ‘Versions’ Album

zola jesus, versions

Last year, Zola Jesus collaborated with industrial innovator J. G. Thirlwell (of Foetus) for a performance at New York City’s Guggenheim Museum. The electro-opera singer worked with Thirlwell to reimagine her towering synth tracks as compositions fit for string quartet. On August 20, Sacred Bones Records will release studio recordings of those alternate arrangements as an album called Versions

Versions is about the bone of the music; taking approximations from past records and turning them inside out,” Nika Roza Danilova said in an official statement. “With all framework exposed, the songs are given a new medium in which to evolve and bloom into their own tiny worlds.” 

The 10-track LP follows Zola Jesus’ third solo studio effort, 2011’s Conatus. Versions features the Mivos Quartet, who will tour with Danilova and Thirlwell this fall. Dates have yet to be announced, but Zola Jesus, Thirlwell, and the Mivos Quartet are confirmed to play this year’s Mountain Oasis Electronic Music Summit, which takes place from October 25 to 27 in Asheville, North Carolina. 

Scroll down to watch Zola Jesus perform “Seekir” at the Guggenheim in 2012, followed by the full track list for Versions

Versions track list: 

1. “Avalance (Slow)”
2. “Fall Back”
3. “Hikikomori”
4. “Run Me Out”
5. “Seekir”
6. “Sea Talk”
7. “Night”
8. “In Your Nature”
9. “Collapse”
10. “Avalanche” [Bonus]