Skip to content

Porcelain Raft’s ‘Think of the Ocean’ Signals Sumptuous August Album

porcelain raft, permanent signal

Judging from his release schedule, Porcelain Raft main man Mauro Remiddi doesn’t believe in downtime. The New York-based composer released his debut album, Strange Weekend, early last year, and by the end of 2012, he was already working on a follow-up. Since then, he’s released an EP — Silent Speech, out last month — and set a release date for his second full-length. On August 20, Secretly Canadian will unveil Permanent Signal, an 11-track effort that’s “far more organic” than Porcelain Raft’s previous output, according to an official announcement. 

Remiddi reportedly wanted to “start with a new color palette” for the upcoming LP, so he sold almost all of the instruments used to craft the dreamy Strange Weekend. Synths still populate the project’s sound, but now the songs have more room to breathe. “Think of the Ocean,” the record’s first single, feeds off an electro pulse, but it’s filled out with a blend of cello, piano, and drums. Hear it above. 

While in the studio, Remiddi worked with Yuck drummer Jonny Rogoff, Antlers bassist Darby Cicci (who also contributed vocals and trumpet, on top of engineering the sessions), and cellist Gaspar Claus, a frequent collaborator with Sufjan Stevens and the National‘s Bryce Dessner. 

Scroll down to watch a trailer for Permanent Signal, followed by the album’s track listing.

Permanent Signal track list: 

1. “Think of the Ocean”
2. “Cluster”
3. “Minor Pleasure”
4. “Open Letter”
5. “Night Birds”
6. “It Ain’t Over”
7. “I Lost Connection”
8. “Warehouse”
9. “The Way Out”
10. “Five Minutes From Now”
11. “Echo”