Skip to content

Pop. 1280 Announce New Album Via Blood-Curdling ‘Lights Out’ Single

Pop. 1280 'Lights Out' Imps of Perversion Album

Scumsucking New York noise-punks Pop. 1280 will return with their second album August 6 via Sacred Bones. Dubbed Imps of Perversion, the 10-song set was produced by Martin Bisi (Sonic Youth, Swans) and is, according to the label, expected to include “stories of lust, sexual confusion, temptation, and debauchery,” as well as the occasional areas in which those concepts overlap, no doubt. The bleak and shreddy quartet has shared the first song from that set and it doesn’t disappoint. “Lights Out” is clanging, shreddy, bleak, and chock-full of uncomfortable tension as Chris Bug horrifically howls about prison kisses and dripping detritus. The track feels a bit crisper and pared down compared to last year’s The Horror, which is still streaming here at SPIN. Track list and a few dates below.

Pop. 1280, Imps of Perversion track list:

1. “Lights Out”
2. “The Control Freak”
3. “Population Control”
4. “Nailhouse”
5. “Human Probe II”
6. “Do the Anglerfish”
7. “Dawn of Man”
8. “Coma Baby”
9. “Human Probe”
10. “Riding Shotgun”

Pop. 1280 tour dates:

June 16 – Brooklyn, NY @ 285 Kent w/ The Soft Moon
August 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Death By Audio w/ Pampers *Record Release Show*
August 16 New York, NY @ Mercury Lounge w/ The Chrome Cranks
September 20 – Lexington, KY @ Boomslang Fest