Skip to content

Hear Jim James’ EDM Remix of Bob Marley’s ‘Waiting in Vain’

bob marley, jim james, legend remixed

Bob Marley’s classic Legend compilation will soon receive an EDM-flavored makeover. On June 25, Island/Tuff Gong/UME will release Legend: Remixed, a 16-track collection featuring remixes of tracks from the 1984 original. The upcoming record includes alternate takes arranged by My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James, Thievery Corporation, Pretty Lights, Roni Size, RAC, Photek, Jason Bentley, and Marley’s sons, Ziggy and Stephen, both of whom produced the project.

As Billboard notes, Stephen Marley teamed with Bentley on a Hyundai-endorsed redux of “Three Little Birds” (hear it via Rolling Stone). The newest remix to surface is Jim James’ respectful rendition of “Waiting in Vain,” which can be streamed below. Speaking to the Wall Street Journal, James said, “I wanted to give the listener a sense of the same awe I felt when I first pulled up the multi-track masters and soloed out the vocals only… It was so unbelievable for me to finally be able to hear the voice I had loved for so long all by itself. So I built the opening around the vocal with minimal bass synth and percussion as well as adding some harmonies in myself.” 

He continued, “I also added in some elements from the original take that people didn’t get to hear on the final mix: little vocal asides here and there, and the funny ending riffs that a few of the guys played as they all stopped one by one… I wanted the song to build and groove in a different way so I re-recorded new drums as well as other sound effects.” 

Pre-orders of Legend Remixed can be placed through Amazon

Legend: Remixed track list: 

1. “Waiting in Vain” (Jim James Remix)
2. “Stir It Up” (Ziggy Marley Remix)
3. “Three Little Birds” (Stephen Marley and Jason Bentley Remix) 
4. “Could You Be Loved” (RAC Remix) 
5. “No Woman No Cry” (Stephen Marley Remix) 
6. “Get Up Stand Up” (Thievery Corporation Remix) 
7. “Satisfy My Soul” (Beats Antique Remix)
8. “I Shot the Sheriff” (Roni Size Remix) 
9. “Exodus” (Pretty Lights Remix) 
10. “Easy Skanking” (Stephen Marley Remix) 
11. “One Love/People Get Ready” (Photek Remix) 
12. “Redemption Song” (Ziggy Marley Remix) 
13. “Is This Love” (Jason Bentley Remix) 
14. “Jamming” (Nickodemus and Zeb Remix)
15. “Punky Reggae Party” (Z-Trip featuring Lee “Scratch” Perry Remix) 
16. “Buffalo Soldier” (Stephen Marley Remix)