Skip to content

Jay-Z Lullaby Album Provides the Blueprint for Nap Time

jay-z, rockabye baby!, lullaby

Jay-Z is skewing toward a younger audience for his next album — a much younger audience. Like, Blue Ivy’s age. Rockabye Baby! Lullaby Renditions of Jay-Z will arrive on July 9. The upcoming set reimagines 12 of Jigga’s best-known tracks as baby-friendly tunes that will ease the little ones to sleep. 

“Jay-Z’s heavily rhythmic style and mastery of flow translate effortlessly to the soothing bedtime arrangements,” reads a press release. The collection draws from Mr. Carter’s entire career: The Blueprint 3‘s 2009 monster hit, “Empire State of Mind,” is comfortably nestled next to “Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem),” from 1998’s Vol. 2… Hard Knock Life. For a preview of the record’s xylophone- and bell-led arrangements, head over to the Rockabye Baby! website. Pre-orders are also available. 

The Rockabye Baby! franchise has previously baby-proofed songs by Blur, the Ramones, Black Sabbath, the Foo Fighters, and Kanye West. A similar series, Twinkle Twinkle Little Rock Star, has given the same treatment to Guns N’ Roses, Beck, Arcade Fire, and Nirvana. 

On the subject of babies and bedtime, Jay recently put to rest rumors that Beyoncé is pregnant with a second child. The King of New York curtly told Hot 97 last month, “It’s not true.” So, for now, it looks like Blue Ivy won’t have to share her copy of dad’s Lullaby Renditions.

Rockabye Baby! Lullaby Renditions of Jay-Z track list: 

1. “Empire State of Mind”
2. “Hard Knock Life (Ghetto Anthem)”
3. “Izzo (H.O.V.A.)”
4. “Big Pimpin'”
5. “’03 Bonnie & Clyde”
6. “I Just Wanna Love U (Give It 2 Me)”
7. “Girls, Girls, Girls”
8. “Show Me What You Got”
9. “Can’t Knock the Hustle”
10. “Heart of the City (Ain’t No Love)”
11. “Run This Town”
12. “Young Forever”