Skip to content

Stream Iron & Wine’s Dusty, ‘Lone Ranger’-Inspired Whistler ‘Rattling Bone’

'Wanted' cover art for the soundtrack album

On July 2, Walt Disney Records releases The Lone Ranger: Wanted, a collection of 14 songs inspired by Disney’s high-impact reinvention of the venerable radio/TV/film character, starring Johnny Depp and Armie Hammer, and directed by Gore Verbinski (Pirates of the Caribbean and The Ring). The album, also co-produced by Verbinski, attempts to evoke some Old West grit: “These are the artists we listened to on the way to set each morning and in the evenings with the dust, like bitter chalk, upon our teeth.”

“Rattling Bone”, an entry by Iron and Wine (who released his fifth album Ghost on Ghost in April) follows that template, starting off as a lilting folk-rock song before smoothly folding in whistling keyboards and a lightly thumping bass drum. The full track list includes songs by Iggy Pop, Lucinda Williams, John Grant, and the Pogues’ Shane McGowan. Pre-order it here. The Lone Ranger hits movie theaters on July 3.

The Lone Ranger: Wanted track list:

1. “Holy Water” (Ben Kweller)
2. “Devil’s Train” (Grace Potter & the Nocturnals)
3. “Poor Paddy on the Railway” (Shane MacGowan)
4. “So Long Gone” (Pete Molinari)
5. “Central and Union” (Sara Watkins)
6. “The American Dream” (the White Buffalo)
7. “Lonesome Whistle” (Dave Alvin)
8. “Sweet Betsy from Pike” (Iggy Pop)
9. “Rattling Bone” (Iron & Wine)
10. “Cowboy” (the Rubens)
11. “Everything but the Truth” (Lucinda Williams)
12. “The Truth Lives On” (the Aggrolites)
13. “Butch’s Ballad” (Gomez)
14. “Saddle the Wind” (John Grant)

:audio=0:114835:song:Rattling Bone: