Skip to content

‘This Is Spinal Tap’ Vinyl Reissue Goes Up to 11 (Tracks)

spinal tap, vinyl reissue

On June 11, Black Sabbath will issue 13, their first album with Ozzy Osbourne in 35 years, but that unholy day also marks the return of another iconic heavy metal outfit: Spinal Tap. Yes, for the first time in almost 30 years, the soundtrack to Rob Reiner’s classic 1984 mockumentary This Is Spinal Tap will be available on vinyl, thanks to the Control Group.

The 11-track collection will be reissued on black vinyl, packaged with a black cover, housed in a (you guessed it) black inner sleeve, and paired with original liner notes from the “Rocklopedia Brittanicus.”

“Imagine the greatest record ever made by man,” reads a press release (via Los Angeles Times). “And then imagine that record as remastered by God himself. And then take that remaster and let Zeus and Ghandi have a freestyle rap battle over the top of it. And then take that record and wipe This Is Spinal Tap‘s…” You get the idea. 

The humble announcement continues, “What we have here is without question the greatest record mankind has ever known remastered and reissued on vinyl for the first time since Polymer Records folded all those years ago.” Pre-orders are currently available through the Control Group, Amazon, and Insound

Spinal Tap consisted mainly of guitarists David St. Hubbins and Nigel Tufnel, as well as bassist Derek Smalls, who were played by Michael McKean, Christopher Guest, and Harry Shearer, repsectively.

Watch some clips from This Is Spinal Tap below. Track list follows, with bonus track from the 2000 CD edition, “Christmas With the Devil,”  conspicuously missing.

This Is Spinal Tap track list:

1. “Hell Hole”
2. “Tonight I’m Gonna Rock You Tonight”
3. “Heavy Duty”
4. “Rock and Roll Creation”
5. “America”
6. “Cups and Cakes” (arranged by Harlan Collins)
7. “Big Bottom”
8. “Sex Farm”
9. “Stonehenge”
10. “Gimme Some Money”
11. “(Listen to the) Flower People”