Love Language Announce Wine-Fueled New Album ‘Ruby Red’

love language, ruby red

It’s been three years since we heard from the Love Language, Stuart McLamb’s pop classicist pet project, but now the Raleigh, North Carolina songwriter is ready to follow-up 2010’s much-loved Libraries with Ruby Red, a new collection of material due July 23 on Merge Records. 

According to a press release, recording sessions involved more than 20 musicians and took place across several time zones. McLamb started work on the upcoming LP with engineer BJ Burton at Ruby Red — the Raleigh cooperative artist space that inspired the record’s title — before the pair eventually relocated to Black Mountain, North Carolina. Per the official album announcement: “Songs were scrawled with lungs full of mountain air, colored with spilled wine, and seasoned with the drawbars of a thrift store organ and tape echo.” Other vivd descriptors used when describing the sound of Love Language’s impending third full-length include “transcendental pop,” “catch-and-release correspondences,” “heartland anthem,” and “the kiss of dew and the glow of DMT.” 

Fans eager for a peek at the creative process behind the forthcoming effort’s 10 tracks should reserve the album now; the first 250 pre-orders from the Merge online store will come with a copy of Black Mountain Demos, a limited edition 11-track cassette featuring early versions of songs slated for Ruby Red.

Ruby Red track list:

1. “Calm Down”
2. “Kids”
3. “Hi Life”
4. “First Shot”
5. “Golden Age”
6. “For Izzy”
7. “Faithbreaker”
8. “On Our Heels”
9. “Knots”
10. “Pilot Light”


you may like

Scroll to Top