Skip to content
New Music

10 Albums You Can Hear Now: Yeah Yeah Yeahs, the Knife, Rilo Kiley, Kurt Vile, and More

yeah yeah yeahs, rilo kiley, mosquito

SPIN presents this week’s batch of ready-to-stream albums, starring full-lengths from current cover stars the Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Kurt Vile, the Knife, Rilo Kiley, and many more. Hear them all below:

1) Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Mosquito. “[‘Sacrilege,’ the album’s lead single], which was produced by David Andrew Sitek and Nick Launay, recalls the drama of Karen O’s “psycho opera” Stop the Virgens with a solid throwback groove, keys by longtime Beastie Boys collaborator Money Mark (who appeared in the Virgens band), and a hauntingly intense vocal from the trio’s gifted frontwoman.” (via Noisey)

2) The Knife, Shaking the Habitual. On “A Tooth For An Eye,” the album’s opening track: “The type of otherworldly, Caribbean steel drum-driven synth-popper that’s been the Knife’s specialty since 2004 debut Deep Cuts. Karin Dreijer Andresson’s vocals are piercing as ever, rising to a frenzied howl as she moves from recounting suburban scenes to telling stories from her doorstep. Instead of sharing different heartbeats, she and brother Olof Dreijer are once again quickening them.” — SPIN (via the Knife’s website)

3) Kurt Vile, Wakin On A Pretty Daze. “He’s still mumbling epiphanies as only he can, but his guitar work has taken a real step forward… Six of Daze‘s 11 songs surpass six minutes, thanks to extended guitar passages that burn slow-motion spirals in your brain. It’s not often that you’re left wanting more from a nine-and-a-half-minute song, but it’s actually a little sad when ‘Wakin on a Pretty Day” finally winds down.'” (via NPR)

4) Rilo Kiley, RKives. “There’s that soulful new ode to Los Angeles, ‘Let Me Back In,’ spit-shined indie-pop jams like ‘Runnin’ Around,’ kinda country-punk jamborees like ‘All the Drugs,’ and confusingly prog experiments like ‘A Town Called Luckey.'” — SPIN (via Pitchfork)

5) Dawes, Stories Don’t End. “The tracks they laid down at Asheville’s Echo Mountain Studio have yielded a 12-song disc of tremendous sonic and narrative clarity, book-ended in classic album fashion by two very different versions of the wistful ‘Just Beneath The Surface’… Stories Don’t End is not so much a departure from the quartet’s previous efforts as a distillation of them. It spotlights the group’s maturing skills as arrangers, performers and interpreters who shape the raw material supplied by chief songwriter and lead vocalist Taylor Goldsmith into an artfully concise and increasingly soulful sound.” (via Amazon)

6) Maria Minerva, Bless EP. “Estonian lo-fi disco queen Maria Minerva has returned with the Bless EP, a woozy collection of hypnotic vocals and crisp beatwork that handily blurs the line between brazen experimentalism and pop-oriented dance music… The five-song set also includes an excellent house-dipped remix of the first track by Northern California producer Lady Blacktronika, and the gothic-tropical rager “Symbol of My Pleasure [Form of My Pain].'” (via SPIN)

7) The Besnard Lakes, Until in Excess, Imperceptible UFO. “The eight tracks, running anywhere from five-and-a-half to seven-minutes long, follow Lakes’ well-established approach of shaping gigantic crests from a variety of sustainment effects, ranging from textbook shoegaze to synth drones that might as well be sampled from actual flying saucer engines. The hikes to the summits are long, but the views from the top are always worth it.” — Consequence of Sound (via Pitchfork)

8) Villagers, {Awayland}. “An idiosyncratic and surprising collection of songs that aren’t so simple, in part because [singer-songwriter Conor O’Brien] recruited outside collaborators and listened to their ideas. The result is a mix of thoughtful approachability (‘My Lighthouse’) and an assortment of trips down more surprising side roads. A stormy epic, ‘The Waves’ billows out majestically, while ‘Earthly Pleasure’ packs roughly eight minutes worth of song — murder, intrigue, the devil, an array of human failings — into a tidy four-minute package.” (via NPR)

9) Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, English Electric. “The album was written, produced, recorded and mixed by core OMD members Andy McCluskey and Paul Humphreys… a ‘letter to technology, space, love and a grand return to form for a band’… features a song written with former Kraftwerk member Karl Bartos… and reportedly includes club-ready dance cuts, along with low-key ballads and three interlude tracks.” — Exclaim! (via Pitchfork)

10) Team Spirit, Team Spirit EP. “[Team Spirit’s] blend of catchy beats and vocals gives the band something different… feature five songs, including the popular single ‘Jesus, He’s Alright!’ and touting the powerful basslines and layered sounds that continue to earn the band new fans.” (via Paste)