Skip to content

Shins Defectors, as Sad Baby Wolf, Share ‘Electric Sounds’ From Debut Album

sad baby wolf, electric sounds

Following his 2009 dismissal from the Shins, Marty Crandall teamed with fellow former-Shin Neal Langford, who left the Albuquerque outfit several years earlier, to form new band Sad Baby Wolf. Now, the five-piece — featuring guitarist Jason Ward, bassist Sean McCullough, and Crandall’s younger brother, Maury, on drums — have announced that their debut album, Electric Sounds, is due on April 9.

“It was the five of us working in an unheated, chilly studio in January,” Crandall said in a press release. “Many evenings were spent sitting around a propane heater, eating pizza and laughing and dreaming about what this band could do.” He added, “We mixed and mixed and re-mixed until we had things just right. We spent months on that process alone and now we are truly excited to be offering it to the world.”

The eight-track effort, mixed and produced by McCullough, features previous singles “8th Level” and “Survival Guide,” the latter of which can be heard below. Sad Baby Wolf have also shared the forthcoming LP’s title track, a floating waltz that suggests Crandall took careful notes back in the ’90s, when the Shins were called Flake Music and tour buddies with Modest Mouse. Stream that below as well.

Pre-orders of Electric Sounds in digital and limited-edition vinyl formats are currently available through Bandcamp. Scroll down further for the upcoming album’s full track list.

Electric Sounds track list:

1. “Bridges”
2. “Electric Sounds”
3. “8th Level”
4. “Waking Up”
5. “The Warnings”
6. “Roaming”
7. “Survival Guide”
8. “Sad Baby Wolf”