Skip to content

R.E.M. Stuff ‘Green’ Anniversary Reissue With Classic 1989 Live Tracks

R.E.M., green, record store day

R.E.M.’s major label debut, 1988’s Green, turns 25 this year, and to celebrate the quarter-century milestone, the Athens, Georgia legends are reissuing the LP as a two-disc deluxe edition. On May 14, Rhino Records will repackage a remastered version of the indie icons’ sixth album with a disc featuring live performances from the now-defunct foursome’s November 10, 1989 concert in Greensboro, North Carolina. That show — which features many songs from Green, as well as 1987’s Document, and even a couple of early takes on future cuts from 1991’s Out of Time — was the penultimate gig of R.E.M.’s 130-date Green World Tour.

Green: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition will be available digitally and on CD, and will come along with four postcards and a fold-out poster, plus liner notes from Uncut editor Allan Jones. Analog purists can also enjoy a remastered 180-gram vinyl pressing of R.E.M.’s first Warner Bros. release; that record doesn’t include the live extras, but will be housed in Green‘s original packaging and art.

On the subject of vinyl treasures, Rhino will also put out the Live in Greensboro EP, a five-track Record Store Day exclusive featuring songs from the Greensboro set that couldn’t fit on the Green reissue. In other words, Michael Stipe and crew’s late-’80s sweet spot is too powerful for the upcoming deluxe treatment. Live in Greensboro drops on April 20 and will be limited to 2,500 copies. The short-player will also be paired with an original patch salvaged from R.E.M.’s Green World Tour. Remember patches?

Watch the video for “Stand,” the classic second single off Green, and get both track listings below.

Green: 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition reissue track list:

Disc One – Original Album:

1. “Pop Song 89”
2. “Get Up”
3. “You Are the Everything”
4. “Stand”
5. “World Leader Pretend”
6. “The Wrong Child”
7. “Orange Crush”
8. “Turn You Inside Out”
9. “Hairshirt”
10. “I Remember California”
11. “Untitled”

Disc Two – Live in Greensboro 1989

1. “Stand”
2. “The One I Love”
3. “Turn You Inside Out”
4. “Belong”
5. “Exhuming McCarthy”
6. “Good Advices”
7. “Orange Crush”
8. “Cuyahoga”
9. “These Days”
10. “World Leader Pretend”
11. “I Believe”
12. “Get Up”
13. “Life and How to Live It”
14. “It’s the End of the World as We Know It (And I Feel Fine)”
15. “Pop Song 89”
16. “Fall on Me”
17. “You Are the Everything”
18. “Begin the Begin”
19. “Low”
20. “Finest Worksong”
21. “Perfect Circle”

Live in Greensboro EP track list:

1. “So. Central Rain (I’m Sorry)”
2. “Feeling Gravitys Pull”
3. “Strange”
4. “King of Birds”
5. “I Remember California”